Religious Education

Religious Education is taught at Moon Hall College in Years 7, 8, 9 and 10. Over these three years students are given an introduction to the six main religions of the world.  Christian in ethos, the school aims to shed light on the religious ideas and rituals of the main faiths; acceptance of the beliefs of others in the world is central to teaching.

The study of this subject highlights the common themes running through the religions as well as the differences. In Year 10 the course includes the study of contemporary moral issues such as abortion and euthanasia.

Key Stage 3 

The six main religions of the world (Buddhism, Christianity, Judaism, Islam, Sikhism and Hinduism) are studied with emphasis on these main themes:

  • Origins of the religion, including the founder
  • The main forms of worship and the specific place of worship
  • The key beliefs of the religion
  • The individual practices and the origins of those ideas
  • The foods they eat and the reasons for the food rules
  • Symbols of the religion

Key Stage 4

 At Key stage 4 there is still inclusion of the main religions in the world but we also focus on controversial matters of ethics such as:

  • Sanctity of life (abortion, euthanasia, embryonic research)
  • War and conflict in a religious context
  • Helping the poor and the religious angle on charity
  • Marriage, divorce and family life in a changing world

In support of the curriculum for Religious Education, school assemblies focus on current affairs and bringing awareness in a humanitarian context to what is happening in the world today. To this end, visitors are often invited in to the school during assembly time to add depth to the curriculum and bring the teaching to life.

Religious Education is not a current GCSE option at Moon Hall College.